Dr. Stanley A. Plotkin, M.D., Scientific Advisory Board Member

Dr. Stanley A. Plotkin is Emeritus Professor of the University of Pennsylvania. Until 1991, he was Professor of Pediatrics and Microbiology at the University of Pennsylvania, Professor of Virology at the Wistar Institute and at the same time, Director of Infectious Diseases and Senior Physician at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia.

For seven years he was Medical and Scientific Director of Sanofi Pasteur, based at Marnes-la-Coquette, outside Paris.  He is now consultant to vaccine manufacturers and non-profit research organizations.

He is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and the French Academy of Medicine.  His bibliography includes over 700 articles and he has edited several books including a textbook on vaccines.  He developed the rubella vaccine now in standard use throughout the world, is codeveloper of the newly licensed pentavalent rotavirus vaccine, and has worked extensively on the development and application of other vaccines including anthrax, oral polio, rabies, varicella, and cytomegalovirus.

Dr. Louis Weiner, M.D, Scientific Advisory Board Member

Dr. Louis Weiner is director of Georgetown Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center. He holds the Francis L. and Charlotte G. Gragnani Chair and is professor of oncology at Georgetown University Medical Center.

He is responsible for the operation and development of the cancer center, including its research, clinical, and educational missions. The clinical mission includes leading the MedStar-Georgetown Cancer Institute in the metropolitan Washington area. Weiner is known for his laboratory and clinical research focusing on new therapeutic approaches that mobilize the patient’s immune system to fight cancer using monoclonal antibodies and other modalities of therapy.

Prior to joining Georgetown Lombardi as director in 2008, Weiner served as chairman of the medical oncology department and vice president for translational research at Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia, PA. He earned his bachelor degree in biology with honors from the University of Pennsylvania and his medical degree from Mount Sinai School of Medicine. After completing his internship, residency, and service as chief medical resident at the University of Vermont’s Medical Center Hospital, he held clinical and research fellowships in hematology and oncology at Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston. He serves as chair of the National Cancer Institute’s (NCI) Board of Scientific Counselors for Clinical Sciences and Epidemiology and as a member of the NCI Clinical Trials Advisory Committee (CTAC), and served on the NCI’s blue ribbon panel working group on immunotherapy and prevention to offer expert advice on the vision, goals and implementation of the National Cancer Moonshot Initiative. He also is a member of the Advisory Panel of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Center for Scientific Research (CSR), which administers NIH research grants.